Newbie needs help with applying for disability!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by TiffanyL, Aug 28, 2003.

1. TiffanyL

TiffanyL New Member

Hi, I'm Tiff. I have fibromyalgia, lupus, Sjogren's disease, thyroid disease, etc. I am a teacher and have been unwell all summer. I tried to go back to work this week, but was unable to continue working as planned and hoped. I am applying through disability that I qualify through the Public Employee Retirement System as well as social security. Any tips and help would be greatly appreciated. I am kind of at a loss here and am learning as I go. Thanks!
    Tiff
  2. missvickielynn

missvickielynn New Member

........trying to navigate the Social Security System is so very hard, and when you are sick, in pain, with killer fatigue and brain fog........it is even more difficult. The system is designed to wear you out, so you will give up.

The SSDI system is the only disability system I have dealt with, so I don't have personal knowledge other that for SSDI. I applied in August last year; I did not get my "green form" (which is the initial "Disability Report")finished until the end of October. They sent me to "their" doctors for both medical and psychological evaluation....which is almost always done. However, I was surprised that, in my case, this was done during the initial stage.

I was denied in Feb. this year, and filed for reconsideration. Again, it took me the entire 60 days to get all the additional paperwork done for the recon. (That is one of the reasons you need to keep copies of everything, cause you do a whole lot of answering the same questions over and over.)