Newby going through stages of acceptance

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by maggie_d, Mar 27, 2006.

1. maggie_d

maggie_d New Member

Hi everyone, I have been visiting this message board since I was diagnosed 2 months ago. I really needed to post today as last night I had a meltdown which, I think, is one step closer to acceptance. I was relieved to finally get a firm diagnosis from a rhematologist after suffering for years. The relief (and denial) has slowly turned to anger and frustration.

The anger hit at the gym, I am slowing accepting not being able to exercise as I use to, but it really hit me last night and the tears flowed - sobbing. It is so hard to put on a brave front all the time and while I try not to mention my pain or limitations, sometimes I feel like screaming. I know it was a step in the right direction by letting the tears flow and my husband really got it. He is so supportive, but like you all know when you don't look sick it is hard for others to understand what we go through every single day.

Thanks for letting me vent, I am enjoying this site and wish you all a great day.

Maggie

2. Crispangel66

Crispangel66 New Member

Good but also bad to have you here I hate to hear of one more person who has to suffer with this dd.

The people saying oh but you look so good, or your just not trying, or your not putting it all in God's hands, don't get me wrong I am a christian but all of those are so annoying.

Then having to deal with the fibro fog, pain, weakness, just getting over the fact that you need to slow down.

What is bad is sometimes I still go through denial, I am applying for disability and each time I have been turned down by them, I began thinking well maybe I am just lazy and can work, WRONG!

Anyway I was diagnosed by 3 different drs that didn't know my medical history, I didn't mention other dr's had said I had fms.