NIGHTMARE ON Rx INSURANCE STREET

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by hartogold, Jun 13, 2006.

1. hartogold

hartogold New Member

Hi my dear friends...

There is no way that I would even begin to put this entire saga here, so I will attempt to enter the reader's digest version.I'm have been disabled for 4 years and live on SSDI (a fix income). I had worked all of my life and the last 20 years I worked I was insured by my employer.

We live in the country. My doc is 60 miles round trip and my pain doc is about 200 miles round trip. If I need a refill triplicate rx from either between office visits it's not just trip to the store. It's a trek and the gas prices are killing us! All this just to pick up a piece of paper with some scribbles on it. But I'd rather be able to get rid of most of my pain and be a part of the world rather than watching it go by.

I have been using 150mg Fentanyl pain patches for about 10 months with ms contin for breakthrough pain (which I have to chew). It has taken two doctors months of trial and error to find the right pain cocktail for me. You see, I have had stomach surgery which has affected my ability to digest medications like the normal person. I was so happy, to finally find the "magical elixor" for my pain.

My doctor strongly reminded me that once I started on the patches, I would become addicted and when/if I don't need them anymore I would need to come off of them gradually. If I stop suddenly, I could go through the severe withdrawal...possibly fatal. I am very good about making sure my doc and I are on the same page.