NOT ABOUT EXERCISE AGAIN!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by northwoodssue, Nov 29, 2002.

1. northwoodssue

northwoodssue New Member

Hi All:
    I'm new to the message boards and must say I really learn alot from other fms suffers. This is a wonderful web site!
    I have been reading the posts from and about Mel and exercise, and even wrote one response. However, I had to state that one form of exercise has helped me tremendously. I hope that others will try it if given the chance, and I know that most fms suffers do try other things to help, even if it causes pain later. We do not give up!! I have had fibro for 5 years and the ONLY thing that helps is a gentle, stretching form of yoga. I take classes thru community ed and the classes are designed especially for those with ms, arthritis, fms, etc. They are not the typical high performance, pretzel type yoga exercises that the movie stars seem to to today. They are slow, gentle, stretching of all muscle groups at our own pace. Those of us that can only move one inch during an exercise are working as hard as those who can stretch completely. What this form of yoga does is lubricates the joints and muscles allowing more mobility. I can actually turn my head from side to side and my hips are less stiff. Does it work all the time??? Only if I keep up with it almost daily, which I am not able to do all the time.
    Dear Friends, this is the only thing that has helped ME, and I hope that some of you would try it at your own pace! I also take ultram once a day, which does not stop the pain and sometimes does not ease it.
    Hope to hear from someone who has been helped by this or willing to try it??
    northwoodssue
  2. northwoodssue

northwoodssue New Member

Hi All:
    I'm new to the message boards and must say I really learn alot from other fms suffers. This is a wonderful web site!