Numbness w/ Fibro

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by piktaker, Nov 28, 2010.

1. piktaker

piktaker New Member

OK, I have been dealing with this for years. Time to find out if others suffer the same thing. This is first time for me to register w/ any site and do the messagae boards. So yes I am a newbie.

I was diagnosed w/ fms early 90's. Fought the the diagnoses for years too..

I get facial numbness on the left side of my face which sometimes goes into the left arm. When I don't have pain/discomfort I get the numbness which mentally bothers me more. Have had the panic attacks when it gets severe like it did acouple of days ago. My patient hubby took me to er so I know it was not a stoke or anything of that sort after CAT, blood work and ekg. When I ask docs in the past about it I felt fluffed off. My new Doc seams willing to work w/ me on this. I have had brain and neck mri's this past simmer to rule out MS and did find a couple mimor things w/ neck that would not cause the numbness.

So feeling frustrated more that normal today I turned to the internet and a forum on this and found you!

Any info/experiences shared would be helpfull
  2. justjanelle

justjanelle New Member

I also have the numbness you describe with my fibro -- not all the time but occasionally.

Is your numbness all the way through, like when your foot goes to sleep, or is it just the surface that's numb? What I mean by that is whether you can't feel it at all, or whether if someone touches that arm you can't actually feel the touch but you can still feel the weight of their hand. It's like just the skin is numb.

I more often have the latter, but when I'm in an especially bad flare I can have the completely-asleep kind. I've never had it on my face, but have had it in other places.