Numerous tests, but do I have a lyme answer? All opinions grateful! :)

Discussion in 'Lyme Disease Archives' started by thecatswhiskers, Jun 3, 2009.

1. thecatswhiskers

thecatswhiskers New Member

Hi,

Just a bit of background which might help guage my lyme risk. I've been ill with 'M.E' for almost 22 years, from the age of 17, for the last 15 pretty seriously, especially with immune system symptoms (constant infections/ viruses and allergies etc).
    Upto being ill I worked as a veterinary nurse and also was type of child/ person who was outside alot, playing in woods, fields, going for walks 9in them too etc, and also had a bit of a 'penchant' for nursing sick wild animals back to health (birds, squirrels, hedgehogs etc), and if there was any animal neer me, I'd be there!!! Also some of these areas I used to walk/ picnic etc in are deer forests. We also have muntjac deer in woods over the road and as a child I was always playing in those woods and fields. Stayed on farms etc too.
    I also rode horses when I was younger.
    Previously tested positive for EBV (not HHPV6, CMV, or Chlamydia).

Telling you all this as thUs far I've had 4 different tests for lyme, and it seems for me there seems a less than convincing answer to whether I am positive or negative to it, so wonder what people on here's opinion would be. I have a LLMD here in England, but I also want to form my own opiion before they give me theirs (I think theirs will be 'yes' tho).

My test results are as follows;

Test 1. LTT-MELISA (Laborzentrum Bremen)

Negative .....
    ... but the lab suggested a retest by a different method as my immune system was acting so oddly (a high background inflammatory response), the result couldn't be relied on.

Test 2. IGENEX WESTERN BLOT

IgM: Negative (CDC + Igenex)

The following bands were marked though;

39 kDa +
    41 kDa IND
    83-93 kDa IND

IGG: Negative (CDC + Igenex)
    The following band was marked though;

41 kDa IND