Oh no - MY JOB!!!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by shari1677, Jan 29, 2010.

1. shari1677

shari1677 New Member

I've been working in the same profession for over 20 years. I was diagnosed with FM about 5 years ago, at which point, both my quality and production took a major nosedive. I have, however, been able to hold down a steady full-time job, at home, with a 3-hour nap in the middle of my shift. My company is full aware of my condition.

Well - I think there is no more "getting by". I was just told if things do not improve, I will be terminated.

NOW WHAT? I live with my sister who told me I have until I get my tax return to move. My mother wont take me in. Of note, neither of them thinks I have a "real illness". They both think I just need to "try harder" and "push through it".

I am a single mom.

I have no health insurance.

[This Message was Edited on 01/29/2010]
  2. fight4acure

fight4acure Member

Hi Shari... where abouts do you live?

What type of job do you have?

Fight :)
  3. AuntTammie

AuntTammie New Member

that is really tough....I will be praying for you

as to what to do.....have they made it clear that they are going to be getting rid of you bc of your disability, bc if that is the case, you may have grounds for some compensation (I don't know a lot about the law with regards to this, but I do know that there is some protection supposed to be there)

aside from that, if you are truly unable to keep up with your work, then disability should come into play.....I know it stinks to have to go that route, but it is there for a reason

you should be able to get health insurance for your child(ren) thru the state, and if you wind up with no income, you will also be eligible for medicaid for yourself (which as i have said before stinks bc around here there are no Drs who take it....but it is still better than nothing, esp in an ER)