Once Again, I've Been Put in My Place.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by petemora, Feb 20, 2011.

1. petemora

petemora Member

One of my brothers read me the riot act this morning. I did ask for it, so don't feel too sorry for me, as I wanted to know what I had done to offend him. I honestly didn't know and was tired of guessing...

His answer, in short, was that he had found my behavior offensive for the past 30 years. Some of my failures, to-wit:

1. I'm on introvert. I'm not good at socializing in groups, better one on one. After I worked all day, on an extremely stressful job, I would sometimes stop at Wal-Mart to unwind, not buying anything but just going through their sale racks until the stress was gone. My kids were done with high school and out of the house by this time. This worked wonders. Was basically criticized for needing to do anything to relieve my stress. I guess I'm supposed to go home, eat supper, and visit relatives all evening, even if I'm tired and have home chores and kids to attend to....

2. My husband worked the overnight shift for 20 years and recently retired. Consequently, I adapted my schedule to fit his as much as I could. As husband and wife, we would have "date night" on Friday nights, sometimes Saturday nights too. Obviously, we again were not out socializing - we were trying to make our marriage work the best it could. I got no leeway for having a husband who worked overnights.

3. My brother is holding a grudge for something that happened over 20 years ago! We got into an argument because I thought he was being very inconsiderate to me, and I ended up calling him a jerk! Not my proudest, best moment, obviously, but that is the moment he is using to judge my character. Totally not fair...