OSU Design Student- Project based on helping those with arthritis

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by designkid, Oct 5, 2009.

1. designkid

designkid New Member

Hello :) My name is Jenna Moomaw and I am currently in my third year at the Ohio State University studying Industrial Design. Our current project deals with designing a tool to help someone. My Aunt has Rheumatoid Arthritis and I have seen how it affects her life, so I was hoping I could create something to help those who live with this condition. I have a short questionnaire that would help me get a better idea as to what it is like to live with arthritis. I am thinking about designing a manual toothbrush, but if you have any other ideas please share them! I would greatly appreciate any information you are willing to give me. Thank you!

Questionnaire
    1. How long have you had your diagnosis of arthritis? What form were you diagnosed with?
    2. At what age were you diagnosed?
    3. What tasks in your daily routine have you had to change due to your arthritis?
    4. Do you find yourself avoiding certain tasks because of pain or inability to flex/bend your fingers?
    5. How has your grip strength been affected by your arthritis?
    6. Are there any specific tools in your daily life that you find more difficult to use? (Ex. Knives, pencils, toothbrush, garden shovel) If so, what about the tool makes it difficult to use?
    7. Are you able to hold a pencil between your fingers or do you need your palm?
    8. What type of toothbrush do you use? How often do you use it?
    9. Do you have any difficulty holding or using your current toothbrush?
    10. If you use a manual toothbrush, have you thought about buying an electric? What would stop you from buying one?
    11. Have you had problems getting your teeth sufficiently clean using your current toothbrush?