OT, Calling all artist.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by littlebrownwren, Mar 4, 2006.

1. littlebrownwren

littlebrownwren New Member

I think I live in constant fibro fog as I read someones profile and then forget their name before I get back to the board.

However I have noticed there are a lot of artist.

Line up and be recognized.

I began painting back in 1987 after my last back surgery.
    I use mostly acrylics but have china paints, fabric, and glass paints.

Most of my work has been birds and I love nature.

I have a 3 wall mural I began some months back but it is on hold at the moment.

I have some small murals in my home. Painted faux french doors on the side openings into my den.

I love to do this but the fibro sometimes drains my attention span.

What is your interest and medium?

2. Suzan

Suzan New Member

Totally self taught, really got the push to try it from my son who is an art major and a , focus on painting, and he said "mom, if you want to try it...just do it..it is only paint". So Dh bought me a ton of acrylics, and canvas and brushes several years ago. I haven't stopped painting since! Some never make it to the wall...some get tossed in the bin....but I enjoy them all!

I have painted walls and furniture for years...before I got sick...So this was a somewhat natural progression for me.

I don't have the focus to paint all the time...but it is something I can do, even with some levels of pain. Often I sit down to paint..and several hours go by..and I get to forget that I am sick...and just watch the paint turn into something that I recognize.

I paint all manor of things...but I have been complimented on my landscape/ocean scapes....and amazingly on my people! That was and is shocking to me as I know how tough humans are to capture. I actually don't think mine are so good...but other people, including two that are "getting paid for their art" artists..have said I have a knack for faces! Who'd of thought that!LOL