OT: FDA Warning Concerning The Internal Use of Hydrogen Peroxide.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kjfms, Nov 13, 2006.

1. kjfms

kjfms Member

I may step on some toes but I had to post this because it concerns me that anyone would use 35% Hydrogen Peroxide internally even if it is called "food grade".

The hydrogen peroxide most everyone has in out homes is 3% WOW -- that is a big (understatement) difference.

When I work as an environmental lab tech and used 50% hydrogen peroxide in some analyses -- I had to wear glove when using this very corrosive liquid because 1 tiny drop on the skin and it would burn like you would not believe.

So it isn't much of a stretch to say that 35% is very strong.

I am assuming that there must be some sort of dilution process that the seller gives the consumer but most consumer are not trained in chemistry...

Even so -- this just sounds so risky...

I will admit I have not done very much research on this because:

1. It just sound too dangerous IMHO

2. I haven't had time -- yet -- just going on logic and gut instinct here... :)

I did see a post about this and I am not putting anyone down but it did catch my attention and frankly it did concern me that someone might consider this very harmful treatment -- in my opinion.

There is an FDA warning against the selling and use of 35% Hydrogen Peroxide [for internal use] I do not think I am being an alarmist actually I think I am being pretty realistic.

Anyone else have an opinion?

http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/541940

High-Strength Hydrogen Peroxide Danger

Miranda Hitti
    WebMD Health News 2006. © 2006 WebMD Inc.

July 28, 2006 -- The FDA is warning people not to buy or ingest high-strength hydrogen peroxide for medicinal purposes.

High-strength hydrogen peroxide has been falsely touted to treat AIDS, cancer, and other serious illnesses, but it has no approved medical uses, says the FDA.