OT ~ Help! Thinking about many changes in my life. Hmmmm. . .

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Bailey-smom, Dec 15, 2005.

1. Bailey-smom

Bailey-smom New Member

Any suggestions are appreciated – I came here to let this all out because you all know exactly what I am talking about so I thought you may have some input. I’m sorry if it gets long.

I have come to the conclusion, like many others, that my work is my main stressor. It is not the "kind" of work it is the day in and day out mental stress that causes me to flare sooooo bad. I have had an assistant for the past 6 ½ years and my company has placed such strict rules in place that my assistant would need to be licensed as well as myself. In a town of 900 people it is difficult to find someone that wants to fill those shoes that are able to fill those shoes – I hope that makes sense. Needless to say, I have been handling my business on my own for the past 8 months.

I took over this insurance agency 2 months after being in a terrible auto accident so I knew I would be in pain but I also thought I would bounce back. Over the years the pain has gotten better and then come back – you know the drill. Then this past summer the pain became unbearable and I was given my diagnosis of FM.

I had a long discussion with my district manager yesterday and he asked how I was. He wanted to know about ME not the business. He said that 50 years from now the business will be here but how was I? I started to cry. He hit the nail on the head when he said that it is not fun to come into the office with a stomach ache feeling like you have to vomit every day:) I have been through 4 managers in the past 7 (+) years and this is the only one who cared about my health.