Pain meds and Liver Damage

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tlc8858, Feb 5, 2006.

1. tlc8858

tlc8858 New Member

Hi all, I was just wondering if any of you have suffered any Liver damage due to long term use of pain meds? I have been using pain medication for about 18 years on and off, and in the past few years on a daily basis. Does anyone know if this can hurt us?
    Tammy
  2. shan1078

shan1078 New Member

They can definately cause liver damage, but not that often if they are taken correctly. You can get more liver damage by taking too much tylenol that you would pain medicine. (I'm pretty sure). I actually have liver damage from taking too much tylenol, (i took for pain). Not trying to scare anyone, just so long as you take them under the guidance of your Doctor.

3. ilovecats94

ilovecats94 New Member

about every 6 months to check for liver damage because I'm on such a high amount of Lipitor (80 mg.). So far so good for me. I have been on pain meds at least 1 a day since May.

I think those drinking alcohol may have a higher problem with liver problems.
    There is Tylenol in my pain med (Lortab), so I'm very careful about drinking.

I think you would be fine as long as your doc does a liver panel and checks blood work every 3 to 6 months.

Hugs,
    Faye
  4. kbak

kbak Member

I have to agree on the need for a liver panel for anyone taking lots of any medication. I also agree on the Tylenol issue. I took a Mayo seminar once on FM, and they really made a point of tylenol being dangerous above the recommended dosage per day. They felt it was one of the more dangerous drugs out there.

I do do liver cleansing because I am concerned about stressing my liver. It's amazing tho how much your body can take. My dad was an alcholic most of his life, and it didn't kill him till he was 72. I think that's really something considering his liver had to be fried.

K.
  5. Cromwell

Cromwell New Member