Panic attacks Agoraphobia associated with Fibro

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by butterfly83, Jul 10, 2008.

1. butterfly83

butterfly83 New Member

For people who have this - what is the treatment? has anything helped you overcome this? I'm concerned about whether some of my anxiety and panic attacks fall into the category of agoraphobia. I didn't think that this was related to some of my issues, but when I read the the definition included a fear and avoidance of situations & places that have caused previous panic/anxiety.. well I do that. Between the fibro and some other medical issues, I've had some bad experiences, and there have been several things that I view as triggers for me getting sick - driving, and traveling being the main ones. I want to be able to do these things, but getting physically ill while doing them has made me fearful of trying them again. I'm just starting to get concerned about whether the fear response is making the physical symptoms so much stronger then they might be naturally. If that makes sense.

Anyway, someone who knows more about this, or has pursued any answers or treatments, I'd appreciate some advice!
  2. erinwilburn

erinwilburn New Member

I am going through the same problems right now and I am worried about it being out of control. My panci is all about pain. My sensory overload dosen't happen until my pain has hit the hysterical point.

So far I can fake my way through a family party. But then it is another month before I feel I can leave the house again for anything. For this reason I am filing for SSDI. I can drive but only short distances and never by myself.

We have a family trip planed with some of my family ( those who do not trigger crazy in me) It is an easy going relaxed cabin fully furnished w/ hot tub an even nicer than our home but I am in tears this morning because I am already in so much pain and I still have to drive the hour there.