Plantar Fasciitis

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by brneyedgrl, Jan 31, 2006.

1. brneyedgrl

brneyedgrl New Member

I was diagnosed with this yesterday and have done a search

on here and found quit a few people have had this. I just

have a question if anyone can answer for me. When I done a

search on this it said it was a medical term name for bone

spurs. The podiatrist didn't say anything to me about a

bone spur. Is this always caused by bone spurs? I also

have pain that radiates up my knee to my hip and in the

back side of my thigh I feel lumps. The lumps just kind of

scares me. Thanks for anyone who answers.

Brneyedgrl
  2. pam_d

pam_d New Member

My husband has plantar fasciitis, not me, and I'm not an expert---but I thought bones spurs were entirely different; I know he does NOT have bone spurs. I, on the other hand, have had surgery on a toe of mine for a bone spur, and my doctor never alluded to it having anything to do with fasciitis. So I think these two things are serarate, but maybe others here with this problem can educate both of us!

What helped my husband the most with his plantar fasciitis was getting custom orthotic inserts made for his shoes---very expensive, but he said almost instantly his pain was literally gone! And often insurance covers the cost, it's just that it wasn't covered under our plan. But honestly, it's been worth the expense because they've done so much good.

Hopefully, you'll get other responses from the plantar fasciitis crowd here...

Hugs,
    Pam
  3. poodlemommy

poodlemommy New Member

The best advice I can give is good shoes. Also dont walk around the house in bare feet or slippers. I wear good running shoes all day in the house. If I dont my feet burn and my knees give out.
    hugs poodlemum
  4. brneyedgrl

brneyedgrl New Member

Thanks for everyone's reply. Desertage, did the surgery

help you any?

Brneyedgrl
  5. Cromwell

Cromwell New Member