please help with suggestions for doctors visit

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by witsend, Dec 4, 2002.

1. witsend

witsend New Member

I have been lucky enough to get an appointment right away with another doctor after my disasterous visit 2 weeks ago with the rheumy from ****. Can any one give me suggested tips or approaches to try with new doctor. I feel my life is going down the toilet as crippled and housebound as I have become in the last year. I have been fighting this dd for 14 years.
  2. witsend

witsend New Member

I have been lucky enough to get an appointment right away with another doctor after my disasterous visit 2 weeks ago with the rheumy from ****. Can any one give me suggested tips or approaches to try with new doctor. I feel my life is going down the toilet as crippled and housebound as I have become in the last year. I have been fighting this dd for 14 years.
  3. kellym

kellym New Member

I would have them check (via blood test) your ATP, Natural Killer Cell, and antioxidant levels so they can see in black and white what's up with your energy level and immune system. My rheumy has found these tests VERY helpful in trying to treat underlying causes with her patients.
    LOTS OF LUCK!
    KellyM
  4. pam_d

pam_d New Member

You are lucky to get another appt. so fast, hopefully this one will go better!

One thing I always do now, is make a one-page document to take with me to new doctors. I list every symptom I have, prioritizing which are the most painful or prominent, and in parentheses after each I list how long I have had this symptom, or if it's constant or intermitent.

Then, I list every test I have ever had & BRIEFLY what the results were (ex: bloodwork, MRIs, nerve conduction studies, spinal tap) and what ailments were eliminated (ex: lyme disease, lupus, MS, rheumatoid arthritis). Also list other conditions (like high blood pressure, for ex.) you know you have.