POLL How many of you are / were HealthWorkers?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by goingslowlycrazy, Apr 1, 2003.

1. goingslowlycrazy

goingslowlycrazy New Member

I read recently, during my (endless) research, that it is common for this DD to be found amongst workers in the Health field.
    I was a Registered Nurse for seven years and then became a Registered Sick Childrens Nurse.(UK terminology)
    In fact I wonder if this is where my problems started as I had been in good health prior to this and then literally woke up one morning with my hands covered in exzema. I had to take three months off work as the exzema became infected with Staph. Aureus and we couldn't get rid of it. Had to be hospitalised in the end to get rid of it although it still flares. (That's the least of my problems now LOL).
    I would be interested to know how many of us fit into this category?
    thanks
    hugs
    Mary xx
  2. SuzieQ

SuzieQ New Member

I've been a nurse for about 10 yrs now. Before that I worked as a direct care worker in group home. Most of my working life has been taking care of other people.
  3. dojomo

dojomo New Member

I've been an RN for 22 years but had to go on disability in 1998. I can trace my illness back to recieving the hepatitis B vaccine. I believe it pushed me over the edge.

There are several studies showing an increase incidence in healthcare workers. So occupational indicators are a GOOD clue......Perhaps we are more exposed to pathogens or toxins or both....

I have been reading that mercury spills in hospitals have never been properly handled.....not to mention the mercury we have been injecting into ourselves with vaccines....

Mercury can induce autoimmune diseases and as healthcare workers....we have been working in toxic waste lands.