Poll on working with FM

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Fransmom, Mar 14, 2007.

1. Fransmom

Fransmom New Member

I am new to FM and still working. I am wondering how many people on the board are also still working. If you are, do you take pain meds in order to go to work? Does working make you feel better or worse? I've noticed that when working I kind of don't notice pain so much, but when I'm done, I crash. I teach at a university, so I have a rather flexible schedule, but it's still draining.

Anyway, I thought it might be helpful for all of us still able to work to share ideas, experiences, etc.

Eileen
  2. blueski31717

blueski31717 New Member

Actually I just spoke to the doc about this subject and asked for referral to a rhumy.

I do not take meds because at work if I took all the meds the doc RX then my mind just jumbled and I forgot things which is dangerous working as a nurse.

I feel much worse at work because I hardly ever get a break and always walking or working.

When I get home as like you I crash. I do not have the energy to do anything else. At work I hurt all the time.

I do not know the answer but I know I have to work as I am the only one with money coming in.

My friend who worked along with me has FM also but she ended having to quit because the stress of the job ended up her having a massive stroke. She is only 53.

hopefully I will get some answers with the rhumy.
  3. revlcb

revlcb New Member

Like you, I too have a flexible schedule...somewhat. If I'm feeling lousy I'm able to go home after I get the most important work done, but that's not always the case if there's meetings to attend. Then there's always the work that has to be caught up on when I get back.