POLL: sick and young - how do you feel about it?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Shannonsparkles, Dec 1, 2005.

1. Shannonsparkles

Shannonsparkles New Member

Please share with us how your illness has affected your life. We really want to know. How do you cope? What hurts the most? How do you see your future? What helps you to carry on?

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. FM/CFS people are some of the toughest beings on this earth. ((((young people))))
  2. smiffy79

smiffy79 New Member

the dx of fm and me was a godsend for me. ive been ill since i was a child and wasnt dx until i was 22 so i spent all thosa years knowing i was different and thinking i was stupid. and so i was miserable.

as soon as i had a dx i started studying on fm,its best to know your enemy so to know how to fight your enemy.

i am able to do so much more now i have an understanding and i have taken on more and for the first time in my life i am planning for the future, and i am ambitious in my plans.

i have been told my my disability adviser that i am entitled to incapacity benefit which i turned down as i feel it would be all to easy to stay at home and not push for more and i want more :)

i have a drive and a character that wont see me pushed down for too long but i think the chip i developed on my shoulder helps me get through the day in that i wont take crap any more ~ no ones going to bully me again!

what hurts the most ??? physically its my back shoulders and legs ~ and noone gets close to touching my knees.
    mentally it the feeling of being trapped within fm ~ over whelmed by it and forced to stop when your desperate to do something else.

and what helps me carry on? tramadol :)
  3. lease79

lease79 New Member

I'm 26 too, but have been sick since I was about 11 years of age. Things just got worse as I got older.
    Honestly I'm sick & tired of always being sick & tired :(