Private Disability Question Please

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by HppeandMe, Jan 16, 2006.

1. HppeandMe

HppeandMe New Member

I need some advice. I am so ready to file for disability physically. I am a Realtor and I am going to finish up with one transaction that I have started and try to sell my own house. Do you think that I can begin applying now for the private disability that I purchased or should I wait until I am completely finished working? I won't be able to go to long without money. Furthermore, I hear that you get private disability faster than regular disability. Has anyone found this to be true? How long should I expect? I am so confused! I really want to begin the disability process but I am afraid they are going to say but you are still working even though it is the bare minimum.

Thanks in advance for the advice!
  2. yuckie

yuckie New Member

I'm in the process of trying to get both private and social security disability. I can't help you with your specific situation because each company is different. Take a look at your disability insurance agreement and see if they give you some details about the timelines. My guess is that you will need to prove your disability which will include a doctor saying that you are unable to work anymore. In the meantime, I'll bump this to get it back on the first page. Hopefully, someone will come along with more information. Good luck!
  3. sunshine8957

sunshine8957 New Member

first to see what there requirements are. Talk with your treating doctor about your inability to work anymore and get copies of all medical reports, x-rays, mri's etc. to have on hand. You want all of your medical diagnoses listed on the doctors form.

I know you said you do no have a lot of money to hold you over, but as anyone who has battled it out with SSDI, that can be a 12-18 battle - so you need to be aware of that ugly truth.