Private LTD vs. SSDI

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Smurfette17, Feb 4, 2009.

1. Smurfette17

Smurfette17 New Member

This question may be naive, but I'm new to the whole process...

I'm wondering why, if someone applies for and gets private LTD, you would bother applying for SSDI? I've applied for LTD through my work, which would pay 60% of my salary with no time limit (according to their policy). So, if that gets approved, would there be any point in my applying for SSDI? Especially since they're not additive (LTD then reduces their payment by whatever you get from SSDI), and since the SSDI process is such a pain. What are the pros and cons of each?

[This Message was Edited on 02/04/2009]
  2. petemora

petemora Member

I had great LTD insurance through my employer, a government agency.

After being on disability for 2 1/2 years, they were looking for reasons to cut me off. They sent me for an IME (independent medical exam) and then a FCE (functional capacity exam). Please remember, these are hired guns looking for any reason to cut off your benefits. Which they did! My LTD provider quit paying my benefits after about 3 years.

So, I have hired an attorney to represent me for that, as well as for Social Security Disability benefits.

In the meantime, I get nothing....

Janice P.
  3. emmally

emmally New Member