? problems with OLE and other herbal remedies

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tansy, Jul 8, 2003.

1. tansy

tansy New Member

Having spent the best part of the last 5 years with my brain even more glued up then ever, I forgot about possible explanations for the problems I had with with remedies like OLE, oregano oil, grapefruit seed extrect +++. I tried them all. They really hurt my stomach, and then made me feel very ill and a lot worse, but this was not the same as herxing or a healing crisis, I've had plenty of experiences with these.

Well today the penny finally dropped.

Salicylates.

Can't take aspirin, react to many of the high salicylate foods and of course herbs are high in them too.

Perhaps this is contributing to stomach pain, goodness talk about sloooooow to work things out.

The guai treatment also requires a low sal diet so there's plenty of info on what to avoid. I'm chemically sensitive too so more likely to have a problem with these.

Just thought others who've had problems with OLE should be aware of this, it may not be just too high a dose or herxing.

Incidently I'm ok with probiotics, garlic, colustrum, so maybe I have to concentrate more upon these.

Dealing with these DDs get more complicated and brain frying the more I look into all the aspects of them.

Cheers

Tansy
    [This Message was Edited on 07/08/2003]
  2. tansy

tansy New Member

and I agree with most of them. I was warned off echinacea by two holistic doctors and my acupuncturist because they felt stimulating my immune system generally would be too dangerous. That's why I'd rather see if I can get someone to prescribe LDN, once I've checked it out, a safe alternative or if I can find the cash go for transfer factor. I now realise who I must contact over this, but as usual cost and difficulties travelling are the problem.

Going to have to look at steps I'm taking for hypercoagulation too, pineapple is high in sals and that's where bromelain comes from.