Provigil? or something like that

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Lau, May 6, 2003.

1. Lau

Lau New Member

Hi Everyone!
    At a recent dr appt doc was telling me about Provigil? He said he had to check to see if trails have been done for CFS/FMS and would let me know. It is supposed to help with alertness/fatigue. I'm looking for any help I can get. Has anyone heard of or tried this? Has it helped?
    Take care,
    Hope you are all sleeping and will let me know tomorrow.
    Love, Lau
  2. tulip922s

tulip922s New Member

Hi Lau,

This is my first time here, so bear with me. My rheumatologist prescribed Provigil for the extreme fatigue I was experiencing from CFS. He indicated that he was successfully treating over 600 patients with this medication for CFS. Provigil is a "wakefullness pill" used to treat narcolepsy and he was seeing results in CFS patients as well. My insurance company did not cover this medication as the FDA has only approved this medication for the treatment of narcolepsy,,,,,it cost $119.00 for a 30 day supply. I was only able to take this medication for 3 days,,,,,I had severe headaches, body pains, nervousness, rapid heart beat, trembling hands and just plain felt like I was losing it, however, I was wide awake. I called him back with my findings and he indicated that I should not take anymore, as I was having an adverse reaction. I seriously have to question if taking a medication to rev you up is the answer,,,,if your body is saying it's tired and sick,,,,perhaps a "pick me up" pill is not the right answer. Best of luck to you. Debi
  3. Mikie

Mikie Moderator