PSYCHOTHERAPY /COUNSELLING ANYONE?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tanu, Jun 7, 2006.

1. tanu

tanu New Member

Hi,I wanted to know whether anyone has been for counselling or psychotherapy.How did you choose your therapist since there are none trained in CFS.I thought of looking for someone trained in Stress management or Post traumatic stress disorder as our illness is not like the others.Whom did you choose ?How do you know who is good?MOst importantly did it help?Can you do over the telephone counselling?Can you name a few good counsellers you have met.
  2. rachel432

rachel432 New Member

i found my psych through a friend. he had been seeing him for other resons and really liked him. i tried him and i liked him too, he has been very helpful.
    rachel
  3. Cromwell

Cromwell New Member

One has to be very careful. I was a psychologist/counselor for many years and I really distrusted a lot of the people I worked with as they would laugh at their patients and treat them as a joke. They would make comments like, "Well if she would lose weight, or get a life, and other value judgements." Some of them were men haters or women haters. A lot had mixed up lives. Then there were a few who were wonderful, would always care and go the extra mile or two to help. They would laugh at me for actually caring about my clients.

I would definately only chose according to referrals from people I trusted and knew well. Also, they need to be aware of CFS and FM as otherwise, they will be just pushing their own views. The best counselor I ever had was a naturopathic doctor in Newport Oregon. She was wonderful, and not actually a therapist, but was a natural! Sopmetimes just a really good listener and wise person can help just as well, sometimes better. I always have said that I was paid for being a good friend, as this is what I felt I was.

Love Anne Cromwell
  4. stagename

stagename New Member