Question for Haleycole re: Bipolar Disorder

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by rainstorm, Nov 27, 2006.

1. rainstorm

rainstorm New Member

This post is for Haleycole and anyone else who feels comfortable sharing information, questions, and concerns about bipolar disorder, especially bipolar II.

Haley, I noticed your post on Redwillow's topic about being a highly sensitive person, and you mentioned that it is now debated as to whether bipolar II is actually a different illness from bipolar I, as opposed to being a variant of the same illness. Do you feel comfortable sharing more about this? I was diagnosed as being bipolar II about three years ago, and am interested in connecting with others who also struggle with this issue. I work as a counselor, and have plenty of clients with bipolar disorder, but that's different from getting a chance to connect with people in a personal way, where I'm not fulfilling the role of mental health professional.

Like you, I don't want to offend anyone on this forum, or imply that anyone has a mental illness, but I am also wondering how many of us with CFS and/or FM may also have bipolar disorder.

Thanks for being open and willing to share about your issues. Hoping to hear something from you and others...

--Cerena
  2. netnut

netnut New Member

I have bipolar too. Not completely sure if it is one or two because the only truly manic episode I have experienced was due to antidepressant use. I do go hypomanic fairly often though. We think I might go manic more often if I wasnt so sick with fibro and arthritis. Its hard to be manic when you cant move...lol.

I also have either borderline personality disorder or just borderline personality traits...we arent sure. We know I have ptsd. We tend to think I just have more of the traits for borderline and am not full blown. I think I may have just mellowed with age...lol.

Dont know what you want to know but Im more than willing to talk. Just ask.
  3. Slayadragon