Question for Jam338

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by theatergirl, Aug 23, 2008.

1. theatergirl

theatergirl New Member

Hi there,

I have been full blown CFIDS since 1997. Spent that first 1 yr severely disabled, but then got better. That said, for the last 10 yrs or so, I have been relapsing remitting and have had periods of time, up to about 6 mo or so, during which I could pretend I was not sick and, of course, ramped up my activity/stress, etc. I am a theatre artist, director/producer/actor.

I went down hard again in May. It has always been russian roulette with me...what amount of "stress" was going to end things again. I am bedridden always for a least 3-4 mo, but have seemed to bounce back. Did lots of research of and on, tried to keep up and learn etc.

This time...I seemed to be pulling up about 13 weeks in and did a very short trip with my DH to the coast with family for one day...came back home and crashed bad. This has never been the pattern for me. My gut is telling me that something has changed this time. Inside, I felt like it might come, but still had so much confidence in myself because I am so stubborn, a fighter, smart and talented, etc.

This is the first time in 12 years that I am really scared that this may be the journey into ongoing and omni-present CFIDS. It just kills me. I have a passive doc (Kaiser), can't work at all, already lost my career and now do not believe that there is anyway to lead a "normal" life. I hate to lose hope, but also want to be realistic about this journey. Mine is definitely viral...but all the tests are always elevated IgG and not Igm, so, like the rest of us, the doc says...well, no active infection, blah, blah. I know better. I haev sung the same song since I was sick with severe mono in 1978 which developed into Guillian Barre which left me paralalysed.