Question for Neurontin Users

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by dhcpolwnk, Jul 12, 2003.

1. dhcpolwnk

dhcpolwnk New Member

I have been using Neurontin for about 6 months (300 mg/day--200 mg at night and 100 mg in the morning). It seems to have helped with my pain, at least somewhat.

I have MS in addition to fibromyalgia, and when I saw my new neurologist yesterday, we discussed my medication. One of my biggest MS symptoms for the past 1-12 years has been segmental myoclonus. My legs, arms, trunk or head will jerk periodically. Sometimes it's just once in a great while, but sometimes I get a lot of jerks (sometimes close to 200 in an hour). Sometimes the jerks are minimal, but sometimes they've almost pulled me out of my chair.

When I mentioned that I was taking Neurontin, my neuro mentioned that Neurontin can cause myoclonus. I can't really tell whether the Neurontin has made my myoclonus worse (I don't think it has), but I was wondering if others who take Neurontin have had myoclonus as a side effect. Do you find that since you started taking Neurontin, your arms, legs, head and/or trunk jerk?

--Laura R.M.

2. JannyW

JannyW New Member

I'm really not sure what causes mine ... I take 300mg of Neurontin 3x day. My dosage was just increased, and I haven't noticed any difference in the number or frequency of muscle spasms/jerks. It was actually much worse when I was taking Wellbutrin.

Hope this is even a little help to you :)

Jan ^v^
  3. franners

franners New Member

I take 5200mg a day as well as wellbutrin 200mg twice daily.. I too have the jerks.. Now I have a question for you.. What did your MRI of your brain show????
  4. zggygirl

zggygirl New Member

Hi!
    I was just going to mention that we aren't supposed to post URL's. The board can get in trouble of something.
    But now that I have you here. You take Neurontin right? And you were concerned about magnesium?