Question to Bird Lover's about African Greys NEED HELP

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by fairydust39, Aug 29, 2005.

1. fairydust39

fairydust39 New Member

Hi Bird Lovers!! I have a question for you all! I found a Timneh Male--2yrs. old that talks but a little nippy! I also found a Female 5 yrs. old that is very sweet and good deposition but she don't talk! They said she used to say a few words but quit. Now the big question is---which one is the best one for me to buy? I have little experience with birds but I know that several of you know all about birds and raise them.They both cost the same amout of money. WHAT TO DO PLEASE HELP!!
  2. suzetal

suzetal New Member

I myself would go with the male.In all species of birds its the male that is the vocal one.
    As far as being nippy it is important to teach the step up command . Take your pointer finger go close to his belly and say step up he should get on your finger if he has Lent this.Its normally the first command they learn.
    Do not pull away fast if he nips at you. Stay put do not give a treat after he nips . He will think its OK . After a few weeks he should stop and you will have a wonderful pet.
    Mine sits at my PC with me and watches TV.His name is Boyd and when I come in the room he says Pretty Boyd. I love it he also says Momma and Oh Ooh.
    I also have finches and Canaries . The finches both pairs have just lay ed eggs. Cant wait for the clutches to hatch.
    Good Luck hope this helps.
    Sue
    PS when there molting they talk less.I would say its like not feeling good to us and we need not to be bothered.[This Message was Edited on 08/29/2005]
  3. Dee50

Dee50 New Member