Questions About EBV and Lyme

Discussion in 'Lyme Disease Archives' started by pw7575, Oct 17, 2008.

1. pw7575

pw7575 New Member

As some of you know I was just diagnosed with Lyme Disease last Friday so I am new to all of this. I tested IGM positive on a Quest Diagnostics Lyme test (I was positive on bands 23 and 39). I am still doing research but do have a question about how Epstein Barr (EBV) and Lyme are related.

My question is on false positives.

I have read all the info about western blot tests and what the results mean etc. I have read that if you are sick longer than one month and test positive with only IGM that it may be a false positive (my test results have that same disclaimer on it). BUT I have also read that some people only test positive with IGM even years after the onset of Lyme Disease. So I am not sure what to think about my test results. I have read that false positives aren't that common so I am inclined to believe I am actually positive.

However...On one hand I have read that certain other illnesses can cause false lyme positives such as Epstein Barr, CMV, etc as well as rheumatic conditions. So I guess I need to be tested for these things to rule out a false positive? I plan to have my doctor run many of these tests for me on Monday if he will. My initial diagnosis 7 years ago when I first got sick was that they thought I had EBV (wasn't positive for an acute infection but had very high numbers) so I am not sure where I stand right now on EBV and how it might affect my Lyme test. I guess I need to rule out a reactivation of EBV causing a false positive?

But on the other hand I have read that Lyme can cause us to become susceptible to other viruses or for them to come out of being dormant etc like EBV and CMV and HHV6 so these things can be present in people with Lyme.

So I am confused. Does Lyme cause these other things to be present in high numbers or active in our blood OR do these other things cause false positives on Lyme tests?