Random blood glucose test, results were 77 should be 100 or more?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Chelz, Aug 16, 2008.

1. Chelz

Chelz New Member

Okay, I have thought for a while now that I might be hypoglycemic. I have done a search on hypoglycemia on this board and there are A LOT of posts about this, so I know I'm not alone.

I work in a hospital and they were having a blood glucose testing site for free. I decided to get my blood checked during my break.

Here is how they determined results:

Fasting Blood Glucose: A measurement of blood glucose taken after you have not eaten for 12 to 14 hours, the results should be 70-115.

Random Blood Glucose: A measurement of blood glucose that is taken regarless of when you last ate. Random (non-fasting) results should be between 100-140.

The test they gave me was Random, so my numbers should be at leat 100, and they were only 77.

Because this is just a test and you should take your results to your doctor, the nurses didn't say much to me about my number. But, I feel that 77 is kind of low since it should be 100 or a little more.

The reason I am concerned is because I have so many of the classic symptoms of hypoglycemia. I get shaky when I don't eat, the brain fog is awful, I can't lose weight for anything, I have palpitations occasionally if I don't eat. I can also feel pretty weak if I miss a meal.

Of course, since I have FM I wonder if it's just that, or could it be hypoglycemia along with the FM. I crave sweets like crazy and usually feel better when I eat them, but will crash too and experience an increase in fibro pain as well.

I see an integrative doctor, but I just don't know how to bring this up to her, I think she probably feels my numbers are within the "normal" range. But, we all know the "normal" range can be very tricky for FM patients.