Reading Problems

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by crumpton, Jan 3, 2005.

1. crumpton

crumpton New Member

Does anyone out there have problems reading now? I used to be a teacher of first and second graders and found myself saying the wrong words at the wrong time. They loved that and helped me find the right words but when you are being evaluated!! there was a definite problem.

Plus I find when I am reading my morning newspaper that my eyes see the wrong word and letters in a word. Usually they are very strange changes and I know that I must reread because the newpaper would surely not say that!! I find my error and continue. THis happens a lot.

I love to read. Any one else with this problem??
    ANy Way to solve this?? I had to quit teaching because my brain refuses to cooperate.
  2. fairqueen

fairqueen New Member

Hi Crumpton

I HAVE noticed a problem when reading--it seems like my brain "replaces" words that are in text. I see words that aren't there. I have noticed this, especially, when I have to read something quickly. It's happening with more frequency!!

I have a lot of trouble THINKING of a word, a name, or anything I'm want to tell another person. I know, this is something that happens OCCASIONALLY to people all the time--people who don't have fibro, who are not ill. However, it's happening to me about 90% of the time. How embarassing!!

Until my retirement, I was a paralegal and office manager for a law firm. I had to remember many, many things--statistics, names, dates, etc. Of course, I kept written records, but, gosh, I had to have a good short term memory. I COULD NOT do that job anymore!!

Guess this is just another thing some of us have to get used to!!

Have a good day.

Fairqueen
  3. Rosario

Rosario New Member