Recumbent Bike

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Yucca13, Sep 30, 2005.

1. Yucca13

Yucca13 Member

Just wondering if anyone uses a recumbent bicycle for aerobic type exercise? I've only used one at PT and am curious to know if I would have to spend a lot of money to purchase one. I saw one advertised at K-Mart for $100. I doubt if they let you try them out. I don't really care about all the bells and whistles - maybe an odometer and a comfortable seat. Any suggestions on brands/price I should expect to pay? (I live in a small town, so maybe I should check out used ones in a city?)

My doctor wants me to break a sweat, but not walk on the treadmill because it is too jarring for the spine. He wants me to get my heart rate up so that natural endorphins will kick in. I like the fact that this kind of bike supports your back while using your legs.
  2. TheAurynn

TheAurynn New Member

Hi yucca,

I have been using a recumbent bike for a few years now, off and on. It has helped me tremendously. I started out going to PT also like you, and then bought the bike for home use. Don't think that the more expensive models are better, I think the MOST important thing is that the seat is very comfortable for you.

I bought mine (can't remember the brand right now and I'm not at home to look) on sale for about $100 at the store "Sports Authority".

Once you purchase one, the thing to remember is to start slowly and work up to more time and more resisitance SLOWLY. If you do it too fast, you will be in too much paint to want to continue.

I am very proud to say that after a looong time of riding this bike (and taking breaks from riding it during bad flares) I am up to 22 minutes at full resistance and doing some light weight training as well. I feel better than I ever have with the fibro, and it makes my life so much better.

Best of luck to you, and remember to pace yourself and go slowly, and hopefully it will help you feel better!!!

Hugs,

Jessica
  3. chp1298