Rheumatologist....Again?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by twin2, Jul 2, 2003.

1. twin2

twin2 New Member

I'm new to this message board and to the internet. (Yes, I've FINALLY left the Dark Ages!) I'm still trying to find my way around! :)
    The first thing I wanted to do was to thank you all for the great information you provide. Now I don't feel like I'm the only one with weird CFS symptoms!
    I hope someone can help me with my current dilemma. I've had CFS for more than 2 1/2 years. Although I'm in pain all the time, it's been bearable for the past 1 1/2 years. This past month, though, has been rough. My doctor's nurse practitioner wants me to see a rheumatologist again. I saw one about 2 years ago when I was at my worst and she didn't help.(All the tests for arthritis, Lyme, etc. came back negative.) I don't know if a new one can do any better. I know some of you see rheumatologists. What do you think? Aside from pain medication, how else have they helped?
    Thanks for your input!

Cindy
  2. shazz

shazz New Member

At least he believes me since he is the one who finally diagnosed me. It's hard to find someone who specializes in FM.
    And it all depends on the doctor. I have heard horror stories about rheumies and then I have heard some people who have had really good luck.
    Where do you live?
    Call your local hospital and ask if there is a fibro/cfs support group, if there is they probably will have the phone number to call.
    I think talking with those in the same boat is probably the best way to find a doctor who will treat you right.
    I have also heard some rheumies will not prescribe strong pain meds, because they deal mostly with arthritis, and mine at first made me try all the anti inflammatories thinking I may have arthritis, but he now prescribes me Lortabs, not alot but better than what some people are getting.
    Good luck. We all need it.
  3. Annette2

Annette2 New Member