Rollators / Walkers

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Andrea4, Jul 3, 2006.

1. Andrea4

Andrea4 New Member

I've been using a cane for many months now and I am finding that it's just not doing enough. I finally broke down and ordered one of those rollators with the hand brakes, little basket and a seat. It was 89.99 on Amazon with free shipping.

Does anyone else have one of these rolling things? I looked at a traditional walker, but it just didn't seem to be very functional to me for what I'm feeling.

I didn't tell my dh I ordered it...he is sooo angry with me about medical expenses and the things I need to be able to function enough to care for our kids. We are flat broke, I put it on the credit card and I hope he doesn't bawl me out for doing it.
  2. NyroFan

NyroFan New Member

Andrea:

Do not explain too much to anyone. If you need it you need it. About three weeks ago I got my shower chair with a back.
    I got the suggestion from this site. Funnny how people who understand can help.

Now...I am safe in the shower after some near tumbles.

nyrofan
  3. jhmitch

jhmitch New Member

I can understand your husband objecting to the purchase of little "extras", but medical costs are (unfortunately) a part of life.

A rolling walker (or rollator) is a medical necessity, IMHO, if you can't get around. Has this device worked for you?

Perhaps you might tell your husband that he has 2 choices: you can return the rolling walker but NOT be able to take care of the kids all the time, or keep the rolling walker and life goes on as usual.

My guess is that he might see that the cost of the rolling walker is tiny in comparison with the expense of paid childcare.

PS: We own a rolling walker (rollator) and we take it with us anytime we go anywhere that requires walking or standing. I have no cartilage in either of my knees and abdominal hernia problems so this device has been a real life-saver.