Running with FM

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by RunninCrazy, May 12, 2006.

1. RunninCrazy

RunninCrazy New Member

I was diagnosed with FM/CFS in February this year. I'm a noob. In high school (graduated in '99), I was a runner. I ran my first race when I was 9 and was probably Olympic material at some point. I was little and bony and fast!

In my junior year ('98ish), I started having problems breathing and had a constant sideache. I increased my potassium intake, added more crunches and situps to my workout and tried to stick it out through the races. I fast went from a 5:00-mile to an 8:00-mile in a few months. (Talk about irritating!)

Soon, chest pain was added and the doctors kept telling me, for two years, that it was in my head and to get over it. I didn't. I stopped running because I knew that something was wrong and I didn't know if it was life-threatening. I didn't want to screw anything up any more than it already was.

In college, my first senior year (Thanksgiving '03), I went to the hospital with pancreatitis. They said I was lucky to have survived but couldn't figure out why I got it. I don't smoke, drink or do drugs. (Hehe, at least, I didn't do drugs at the time. Now I "do" them daily!) Ever since the pancreatitis, I've been going downhill pretty fast. I'm trying to get back into the running scene. My long-term goal is to run my first marathon in 2010. I'd like to do the Boston in 2015, but we'll see if I have any qualifying times by then.

In the mean time, I'm working in a therapy pool as often as I can get there, I'm setting up a workout with my doctors and a new (free) PT. We'll hopefully have me out of the water and walking on a treadmill by August. And (gasp!) possibly lifting light free-weights to tone up. Hehe, what a book I've written! Are there any other runners out there!? I really, atm, don't know what I'm doing and would like to commune with other like-minded individuals.
  2. sherri_baby

sherri_baby New Member