Severe and incapacitating back pain and meds

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ecoquest3557, Aug 22, 2006.

1. ecoquest3557

ecoquest3557 Guest

I'm new to this. I just wanted to ask a question that nobody will give me an answer to. I've had severe and incapacitating back pain for almost five years now. I do take a narcotic and muscle relaxers daily, but I also take several psych drugs for those symptoms of my fibromyalgia. Right now, I'm having a bad flareup, but my physician won't order anything because of all the meds. Pretty well, I just lay in bed and cry. Could any of you give me advice on what I should do. I have no life at all at these times............Paula
  2. mrsjethro

mrsjethro New Member

Hi Paula,
    Unfortunately for us, there are still so many doctors that have not had any education on FMS/CFIDS/CMP and many still belive that it is in our heads. My original doc would not give me the meds that I needed for fear of my becoming addicted. HA! I can't blame hiim though, he has been taught that it is a psychosomatic illness (all in our head).

I was blessed recently with a nurse practitioner that is now working in his office and she has FMS/CFIDS/CMP and Lupus. I am now getting the treatment that I need and extra meds as needed. If your doctor insists on not treating you as you feel you need to be, then maybe it is time to consider looking for another doctor.