Severe anxiety but already on multiple benzos what now? HELP

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Bunchy, Mar 28, 2007.

1. Bunchy

Bunchy New Member

Hi all,

I have been cycling meds for several years including Clonazepam, Valium, Ambien, Zopiclone and Soma.

I have built such tolerance that I am having severe rebound anxiety between doses (try to take only at night for sleep otherwise no sleep :-(

I need to stabilize on something that would be say one med for sleep (it would have to be a strong one) but have extra of something else (related drug) as benzos are the only thing that helps with episodes of severe pain and neurological unpleasant sensations such as presure feelings and buzzing in my whole body etc.

Many here talk about Xanax as a good sleep med - how can I get my doc to prescribe this (I am in the UK) and how can I convince her that I need another benzo (like Clonazepam or Valium) for breakthrough symptoms mentioned above?

My doc simply does not believe that I am in such a mess with this cycling of meds from which I get terrible rebound anxiety and panic attacks.

I'm desperate for her to help but she has no understanding or belief about what I know helps me.

Any ideas?

If I get any good advice from some of you perhaps I could print this thread off and take it to her at my next appointment.

I need to stop using so many meds and try to stick to one (strong) one for sleep and one for relief of symptoms metioned above. I need to stabilise.

Sorry if this is confusing I am at the end of my tether and on the verge of a complete breakdown due to pressure from husband and family trying to make me do things I can no longer manage.

Pleas help. I don't know where else to turn.

Thanks and love Bunchy x

2. WhoTookMyBrain

WhoTookMyBrain New Member