Shaking

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by wanderingbluedragon, Aug 21, 2006.

1. wanderingbluedragon

wanderingbluedragon New Member

I am very new to having fibro...I was diagnosed at a local emergency room. I have not been able to see my dr. yet for this, that's how soon it's been. It hit me like a Mac truck during a sinus/ear/throat infection. I have now suffered for a couple of weeks hoping the Dr made a mistake. I noticed today that I started shaking, my hands and legs, uncontrolably. It's not wild shaking, more like a muscle spasm or twitch. I feel very weak today also. I'm wondering if shakes are part of this?
  2. apl

apl New Member

hi wanderingbluedragon - welcome!

I think one of the general rules with diagnosis of FM is that the symptoms should be over a period of several months. So you might want to take the DX from the ER doc with a grain of salt. Not saying you do or don't have it, but it needs a full checkup by a doc who knows what they're doing.

But beyond that, whether you have FM or not, it is more important to go to your primary doctor, as you might have something else that could be more severe, or need immediate treatment. Since your symptoms have been brought on or triggered by an infection, and you may have been on a course of antibiotics, there are a number of variables to consider.

To put it clearly, if I were you I would schedule an appointment as soon as possible, and tell them you just had a serious sinus/ear/throat infection, and now you are having shaking/spasms etc. They need to make sure what you are having isn't complications from that infection.

I hope that helped some. There are many helpful and friendly people here, so hopefully this thread will stay up for long enough for you to get some more advice. The most important thing is to not just "write it off" as FM, as it could be something else. FM is bad enough, but you could have somethign else going on as well.