Shirl, I am delighted to meet you

Discussion in 'Spirituality/Worship' started by PoimaeHopkins, May 18, 2007.

1. PoimaeHopkins

PoimaeHopkins New Member

Dear Friend,

I appreciate your kind words. And I was blessed from reading your bio. I, too, was born and bred a Southern Baptist for some fifty-five years. I was ordained many years ago by Dr. W.A. Criswell at First Baptist Church in Dallas, Texas. It was in the Criswell Center for Biblical Studies where I earned my degrees (BA and MA) with double majors: Systematic Theology and Biblical Languages, and two minors: Church History and Apologetics. In the Bible Institute I have here in Pawhuska, Ok. I teach various classes like Greek, Hebrew, Latin, Biblical Studies, etc.
    Like you, I have a rather extensive Library of some 12,000 volumes - all old friends. The core of my library is Puritan works from the 16th and 17th centuries. I have all 62 volumes of the MTP of Charles Spurgeon, whom I read daily. Now, there was a man of God who understood suffering.
    We converted our oversize two car garage into a Study to house my library. It is here that I go in "The Night Watch" where I seek the Throne of Mercy in prayer. And in those blessed hours of prayer, where He mercifully showers me with His grace and the pain ebbs away that He begins to fill my mind with the lines and stanzas that become the poems that I write. I am just a delivery boy.
    Looking forward to a long and blessed time with you all.

God bless you.

Soli Deo Gloria!

PoimaeHopkins
    (Poimae is Greek for Shepherd)
  2. PoimaeHopkins

PoimaeHopkins New Member

"Ma shalom Ha" Shirl (It is a Hebrew greeting that means, "Peace be unto you." It is in the modern dialect of Hebrew, so Hebrews in Israel would understand it if you spoke it to them.

In reading your bio I discovered your interest in
    1. Native American History and
    2. Antique books