should i or shouldn't i?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by loto, Jun 23, 2010.

1. loto

loto Member

Hi All.

Need some advice.
    I just started my summer semester online courses last week.
    One of the requirements for the associates degree I'm going for is Keyboarding.

I've been a secretary for several years, so I have a lot of experience with typing and computers.
    The problem I'm finding is this:
    We all know how FM affects our brains and eye-hand coordination (all coordination for me!)
    So, as I'm doing these drills and timed typing assignments I can type 89 words per minute on some of the drills, and then do another drill that's basically the same as the previous one and totally bomb it and only type 30 words per minute.
    This is what I need advice on: should I tell my instructor that I have FM and it gives me brain fog and coordination problems? Or should I just not worry about it? I'm not worried about the grade I get in this course, I don't think I'm going to do that badly that I fail it. I'm worried that if I explain everything to her that she'll think I'm making up excuses and expect her to give me a break on these assignments.

The other online course I'm taking now is Medical Terminology, which I love. I'm learning terms and stuff I didn't know. So far I'm not having problems with the tests, because of course I can use my book and notes if I can't remember something.

Anyone have any good advice for me about the keyboarding????

2. shirley1259

shirley1259 New Member

Or so I have been told. lol I really think you should talk to your teacher and be up front with her about your fm. That way she will understand why your typing speeds varie so much even if she doesnt give you a break because of it. just my opinion
  3. Juloo

Juloo Member