So, you wanna be a writer, eh?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by zerped, Feb 5, 2006.

1. zerped

zerped New Member

This is a response to fight4acure's posting, but it ran so long and speaks to more people than just her, that I thought I'd let it stand on its on two feet.

I've been a freelance writer for decades now, with one four-year stint and one six-year as an entertainment writer for newspapers. Sold tons of articles, contributed to two books on entertainment and wrote and published one book, "31 Days at a Time (Daily Meditations for the Serenity Impaired)."

So what can I tell you about writing for money?

#1----poetry is like sex: everyone thinks they're good enough at it to impress people when they should just concentrate on pleasing themselves. Writing poetry is wonderful for the soul and good practise and discipline in the use of words. Write however much you want, but leave it at that. When it's time to share with others, you'll know it.

#2----Forget about writing "clubs," "organizations" or "agencies" that charge money. Hemmingway never paid anyone to look at his stuff or to print it! (Well, he also blew his brains out with a shotgun, so maybe this isn't the best example...) In any case, you're supposed to be accepting checks from people, not filling their wallets.

#3----Probably the best thing you can do, whether a writer, artist, actress, photographer, comedian, musician, etc. is to check out a copy of "The Artist's Way" at the library. The author, Judith (? or Jane?) Cameron gives you a nuts-and-bolts approach to doing spiritual work which is also necessary to access your creativity. I loaned the book to a friend and after he had finished the book, he sold an option to a screenplay!

#4----Writers write. Thinking about writing or talking to people about what you're going to write may be OK, but unless you spend at least as much time actually writing, you're not really a writer.