Social Security Psychologist

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ForeverFlaring, Apr 29, 2003.

1. ForeverFlaring

ForeverFlaring New Member

Well...today was the day. I went to see the doc SS referred me to.

The very first thing he said to me is..." I am a psychologist with my own practice. I do not work for Social Security. I work for people. Even though Social Security pays me for my opinion, I always give a professional opinion. I am not your enemy, so lets work together."

He was to say the least...AWESOME! We went over alot of things about my depression and I was bawling like a baby. We talked about all the jobs I had been fired from and how fibro affects me emotionally. He shocked me and said..."you know, all doctors are assholes about fibromyalgia." He went on to say he has treated hundreds of patients with fibro and it infuriates him how badly treated we are! he said he was angry that we were not listed in CDC and that no doctor wants to adequately treat our pain to give us our lives back. He said he has written letters to the AMA, to congress, everyone he could think of so that we can be recognized!

He then said..."it's no wonder you are depressed. You have lost all quality of life, and sit here before me like a battered housewife, because in reality you have been battered by employers, doctors, and society!"

So, even though he thrives getting the business from depressed untreated fibro cases, he is very angry that we are ignored and shoved under the rug!

We talked about my physical and how horrid the doctor was who did my Social Security physical. He said...alot of doctors dont care about the results, they just want the extra money. You need to document everything that happened and send it in now!

Now, back to the eval. I cried like a baby the entire time. I was entirely honest with him and had to keep switching positions to try to stay comfortable ranging between standing up and stretching to sittingback down etc.