Sometimes, It's Good To Be Old

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Mikie, Nov 16, 2010.

1. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

As I wait to fly to Atlanta for Thanksgiving, I've been contemplating buying a new carry-on bag. I have two really nice sets of luggage--mine and my Mom's. There was only one carry-on bag with wheels and I've been using it for 10 years. The handle is sticky and sometimes, at the worst moments, it refuses to collapse. Y'all can imagine the dirty looks I've gotten from other passengers forced to wait until I can giggle it just right so I can stow it and sit down. I decided to look for a new one.

Beall's, a small Florida department store chain, advertised their luggage at 50 percent off. I found a beautiful Liz Claiborne carry-on bag but even at Beall's 50 percent off price, it was really expensive. Then, I started wondering whether it would be 50 percent off the 50 percent. It was! Yea! And, on top of that, it was "Senior's Day," and I got an extra 15 percent off. Holy cow! Pretty soon they'll be paying me to shop. Sometimes, it pays to be old.

I love this bag because it's like the fabric in her purses with her logo on it in tasteful gray and cream. Those purses are indestructible. One woman told me about her friend who had had one since the 80's. It was like new but outdated so she wanted to buy a new one. Just for kicks, she decided to drag the old one behind her car to see what would happen. The purse came out pretty much unscathed. Now that's a product endorsement!

I'm keeping y'all in my thoughts as Thanksgiving approaches. I am very thankful for all the friends I've met here over the years and for all the help I've received. Without the support and treatment advice, I'd likely still be bedridden and on Morphine. While I've been mostly away from the board when I was working, I've never forgotten everyone. I hope you all have a very happy and blessed Thanksgiving.

Love, Mikie
  2. jole

jole Member