SPCA.....I am so HAPPY

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Kathleen12, Mar 26, 2008.

1. Kathleen12

Kathleen12 New Member

I have been battleing for several years since hurricane Katrina to get all these feral cats spayed/neutered. I've only managed to get about 5 out of the 25+ fixed so far. The nearest spay/neuter clinic to me is 30 miles away and with gas prices I can't afford the trips to drop them off and pick them up. But I've been trying SO hard to get this done.

Any way, I got a call today from a lady at the SPCA and told me that I am eligible for her new start-up spay/neuter program to where I don't have to pay ANYTHING to get all these guys fixed! They will actually come to my home with the mobile spay/neuter van and do it in my own lawn! The lady already knew that I am on SS disability and I told her of my CFS of which she already knew about this disease. I could not help but cry over the phone with her. I was just so overcome with gratitude and relief. OMG, I cryed like a dad-gumed baby! But I did tell her that I would LOVE to volunteer when I can by making phone calls, passing flyers when I'm able and whatever she needs me to do. She was so happy to have a new volunteer. And I am so happy to be able to feel needed and useful again....and of course getting all my ferals fixed!

THere ARE good people out there!!

Oh yeah, there is another lady who is coming down with lots of traps to help me get them trapped. So far, I've only been able to trap one at a time and that's only once a week! so now it will go a lot faster.
    [This Message was Edited on 03/26/2008]
  2. springwater

springwater Active Member

and Kathleen, you are one of the very best. God Bless You for the selfless work you do helping these strays.

In most disasters, all the attention goes to humans and they dont even tell us what happened to the animals, as if animals dont get petrified, or suffer agony same as humans do.