SSI Anybody Know?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by angelkisses6, Jul 14, 2006.

1. angelkisses6

angelkisses6 New Member

Hi i was wondering if anybody knew how long it takes before you get a no or yes answer from ssi after you have been sent to their dr and shrink? its been a month already for me since ive seen them and i havent heard anything yet and i was just wondering if it takes real long? Iam aleady perpared for the no answer,this is my first time for this and i know it can take awhile before they give it to you,but i hope it dosent take too long before they give you any answer,thanks all for your help take care,marieann
  2. 69mach1

69mach1 New Member

i had seen their dr's the end of july last year...i think it was...then i was approved on 9/15...the first time...

jodie
  3. TAM

TAM New Member

HI,

It took a little over a year for me to hear back from them, then i was denied but went before a judge and two yrs after that i was approved I thought they lost my file or just plain forgot about me. So don't give up hang in there. Extra good luck to you. TAMMY
  4. Rose73

Rose73 New Member

In my state it takes about 3 months. It took almost 4 months on mine. Most are denied. You must appeal within 60 days, and it will be sent back to the same place, but to a different person. That takes about 3 months. It took mine about 2. If denied again which is common, you can appeal for a hearing before an judge. That is when the long wait comes in. I feel the best time to get an attorney is after the first denial. Hope this helps.

Rose
  5. mrdad

mrdad New Member

You most likely will get a written letter (form) in another two weeks. It seems that SS works in six week
    intervals in the initial stages. I believe it is pre-
    programed into the computer!!

You're fortunate to be in Cal. as things seem to move bet-
    ter here than in alot of other states! Don't be discouraged
    if your news is not favorable. That also is common at this