St. John's Wort or Sam-E; Need help!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mrpain, Jun 30, 2006.

1. mrpain

mrpain New Member

I have a family member who wants to get off zoloft. Which one of the natural mood changers which are all natural, would be the best choice to switch to?? St. John's Wort, or Sam-e??? How much should they take?? Any info would be very much appreciated...
    [This Message was Edited on 06/30/2006]
    [This Message was Edited on 06/30/2006]
  2. shootingstar

shootingstar New Member

I have no experience with Sam-e, but have taken Saint John's Wort. There is a big difference in brands -- I've taken several. I'm currently taking just 300 mg. of Target's house brand -- Origin, standardized to .3% hypercin -- to help with sleep, and at this time it is helping with sleep, no significant mood enhancement at that dose for me. That is a low dose for that brand.

Dosage can vary, because brands are formulated different ways, so you'd have to read labels. I'd definitely recommend ramping up to any recommended dose. There aren't usually significant side effects, but you never know.
  3. mrpain

mrpain New Member

I was just reading up on it by going to google, but it didn't really address my situation. The person I'm trying to help has OCD. (Obsessive, compulsive disorders). That was why I was asking the question...
  4. shootingstar

shootingstar New Member

They don't sell anything. It's a forum for people who want information on sjw, same-e, 5-htp etc. There is a lot of information in the archive section. The website was recently upgraded and all the old posts were archived. There might be information there. Hope this helps.
  5. ANNXYZ

ANNXYZ New Member

I hope YOU are having some better days yourself ( and do not forget the Igenex lyme test) .

Something to consider is a book called "The Way Up From Down" that explains treating depression with amino acids . It is written by Priscilla Slagle , MD .