Started school (pre-nursing), harder than I thought

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by TNhayley, Aug 27, 2003.

1. TNhayley

TNhayley New Member

Hi everyone! Well, classes have started and I am kinda freakin out. I know I can do this ... but it is going to be way way harder than I thought. College was a breeze pre-fibro ... it's certainly different now. I may not be here much for awhile. :-(

Human Anatomy and Physiology is kicking my butt already. I didn't take any chemistry in HS or previous college, so I am feeling a disadvantage there. What is review for most of my class is new to me. I'm going to be studying overtime. And, I'm really seeing my memory problems now.

Any students .... or anybody ... with advice? Thanks to everyone here. I wish you all the best. See ya when I come up for air in December. ;-) Hugs,
    Hayley
  2. Myth

Myth New Member

When my symtptoms were not as bad as they are now I was a honour student. When I went for my MA I was worse and my grades dropped a little, not much but enough. A developed little coping strategies to help me out, but they only help so much. Expect you grades to lower a percentage point in some classes, expect your quality of work (research papers especially) to lower if not the grades. First thing is to realize it is going to take you longer to do anything.
    1) Do not study right after school. Relax, eat something and then choose a quiet enviroment to study. Stop if you are having troubles consentrating- there is no point in continuing. My peak studying time was always in the evening.
    2)When doing research, you want to take careful notes on important things in each book you are researching. You will find it difficult to piece things together otherwise.