stopped watch

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by jpaige, Jun 22, 2006.

1. jpaige

jpaige New Member

i am new to this chat. i was wondering if anyone had a problem with not being able to wear a watch. they stop working when i wear them. my husband purchased new batteries and two new watches after that. they all stopped on me. i think it may be related to my fm. any thoughts?
  2. findmind

findmind New Member

Hi, boy, this is a new symptom for Fm-ers to figure out. (Laughing)

Sure got me...some people do have electromagnetic currents that seem to interfere with things mechanical or electronic, though.

I had a friend who turned off tvs, lights, music, lots of things whenever she walked into a room. had to be always fixing one of her electronic components!

Keep on "sparkling", or whatever it is you do...I really don't think its the FM :)

Hope we hear from you again...
    findmind
  3. jpaige

jpaige New Member

so what did your friend do? i am serious. what do u think it is?
  4. maxtout

maxtout New Member

I've done this my whole life, but it got worse after coming down with FMS/CFS. My mother did the same thing and I believe she suffered from FMS/CFS too. Only they didn't call it Fibromyalgia/ Chronic Fatigfue Syndrome back in the 50's and 60's. They said she was "depressed, suffered from hypochondria" and was also diagnosed with what they called, "Battle Fatigue." (I always thought that was weird, she was never in a battle, except with the doctors who kept telling her her aching muscles, joints, "muddy headed feeling" (fibro fog), etc. was all in her head).

I have "fried" wireless phones, computers, light fixtures, blenders and microwaves with the mere touch of my hands when I am in a flare. I've also walked underneath streetlights and have them go out, as well as overhead flourescent lights in grocery stores, which usually flicker and go out as I walk under them, but then flash back on after I've passed by.