Study: Medical Marijuana helps with chronic pain

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kat211, Aug 30, 2010.

1. kat211

kat211 New Member

I know there has been a great deal of discussion on here about the medical uses of marijuana, so I thought I would post this article.

I can say from personal experience, that small amounts of indica mj do help me with my fibro pain. I am a medical MJ patient in my state. I have found that MJ with high percentage of sativa makes me jittery and does not help with pain, but high percentage of indica does help me with pain and sleep. I am by no means a MJ expert, or even a regular user, maybe 1x per month.
  2. gapsych

gapsych New Member

I posted an article about the consequences some people are experiencing in the work place.

Since you wrote about MM, I will bump it.

What are sativa and indica?

Take care.

3. kat211

kat211 New Member

What a pothead once told me and the way I remember it is Sativa starts your day and Indica ends it.

Marijuana comes in two basic types - sativa and indica. Which type you choose will determine the effects you feel. Each type has its own distinct set of charasteristics.

Sativas are known for their height and their leggy, often sparse, leaves. Sativas can be anywhere from tall and round like a massive bush, to lean and spindly with a few large colas. The leaves - a trademark of the sativa strain - are long and thin. The odor varies with the particular strain that is growing.

The sativa high is often characterized as uplifting and energetic. The effects of a sativa marijuana are mostly cerebral. They give a feeling of optimism and well - being, as well as providing a good measure of pain relief for certain symptoms. A few pure sativas are also very high in THC content. They are known to have a quite spacey, or hallucinogenic, effect. Sativas are a good choice for daytime smoking.