Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by stumped, Jul 15, 2008.

1. stumped

stumped New Member

I am a father of a beautiful daughter who has always ate right and excersised alot. She has been diagnosed with FM and is now going thru the prescriptions which some are natural and some not. One of her prescribed meds is GHB for sleeping. It is controlled by the FDA and is only prescribed for narcoleptics. She has been priscribed by her doctor to take this in which the insurance company will not cover because she is not narcoleptic. Melatonin has not worked well. Is there any other medications or sleeping meds that anyone knows of that might help my daughter sleep soundly. I am new at this. My daughter too. We are both concerned of taking heavy narcotics or any highly addictive medications. I would greatly appreciate any input from those who have been thru this. Thank you. STUMPED
  2. stumped

stumped New Member

Thank you, thank you very much for your input and advice. I will continue to look at all alternative's and read your forum. It appears to me that a very good thing is happening here. The support and fellowship which you all have is a true blessing. I have forwarded this address to my daughter and niece who both are going thru the guinne pig stages of medications for FM. I will keep you all in my prayers and will share any new info with all. Thank you, from: Rick (one stumped Pop)
  3. marti_zavala

marti_zavala Member

Expect more responses. This is a great group.

Here is what I use:

300 micrograms of melatonin (sometimes less is more).
    50 mg 5HTP
    100 mg Valerian root

Also helpful, rhodiola, holy basil, GABA, and l-theanine.

Here is what I use for my Fibro:
    400mg Magnesium
    1200mg Malic Acid
    800mg Calcium
    Tramadol (prescription for pain)
    Robaxin (prescription muscle relaxer)
    Epsom salt baths/lotion

4. cookie1960

cookie1960 New Member

Hi stumped dad,